McDowell Returns to Eldora Victory Stage During World 100 Weekend
September 6th, 2014 - Dale McDowell picked up right where he left off in June as he parked his #17m in victory lane during the opening round of the 44th Annual World 100. An impressive 117 entries converged on the famed Eldora Speedway for the crown jewel.

On Thursday evening the field was divided into a pair of $5,000-to-win programs, and via qualifying Dale earned the pole position for his heat race. He would storm to a convincing heat race win to lock into the second starting spot for the preliminary feature. In the main event, McDowell assumed the point at the drop of the green flag. The 2014 Dirt Late Model Dream winner then wired the field, leading all 25 laps to take the checkered flag ahead of Randy Weaver, Gregg Satterlee, Brian Birkhofer, and Jimmy Mars.

Friday evening found the field again split in half for a pair of $5,000-to-win events. Dale qualified 21st among the 119 entries that took time, earning him the third starting spot for his heat race. McDowell raced to a second place finish in the heat, which locking him into the eleventh starting position for the 25 lap feature. He battled around the top ten for much of the event before ultimately cross the finish line in tenth.

On Saturday evening the finale for the prestigious event was held at the 1/2 mile oval, and via his qualifying night performances McDowell starting third in the fifth heat race. Dale would charge to the win to lock into the second starting spot for the 100 lap, $47,000-to-win finale.

McDowell took control from pole sitter, Mike Marlar at the drop of the green flag to lead lap one. Fifth starter, Scott Bloomquist took the lead on lap nineteen only to be penalized the following lap for an unapproved window net and sent to the tail of the field. (Zach Yost Photo)

From there, McDowell held a comfortable lead for much of the event. However, Bloomquist progressively worked his back to the front, and retook the lead from McDowell on lap 72.

McDowell settled for the runner-up finish behind Bloomquist, while Jimmy Ownes, Jason Feger, and Matt Miller rounded out the top five finishers.

Full results from the event are available at